Sunday, September 13, 2009

Maria Callas: the Annual Commemorative Concert

The Athenaeum, a non profit association dedicated to preserve the memory and the glory of Maria Callas, founded in 1974, that has instituted, on annual basis, the International Music Competitions for Opera, Oratorio-Lied and Piano, called the Grand Prix "Maria Callas" in honour of the great artist and that it's held under the auspices of UNESCO, is presenting it's Annual Commemorative Concert that this year will take place at the Athens Megaron, on the 16th of September 2009.

The concert will feature singers that in past years-or this very year- have been awarded the Grand Prix Maria Callas.

Dinara Alieva

Azerbaijani soprano Dinara Alieva, winner of the 2007 Grand Prix, will sing Violetta and Tosca, armenian mezzo Varduhi Khachatryan, a 2001 winner, will sing Eboli and Rosina, while Jaesig Lee, this year's winner, a wonderful Korean tenor, will be Edgardo, Nemorino and Duca and Jung-Hyun Moon, Korean baritone and a 2007 winner, will sing Tonio.

Second part of the evening will consist of duets (Pagliacci, La Favorita) and the Rigoletto quartet.

The Orchestra of Colours under mo.Miltos Logiadis will accompany the 4 soloists.

Jaesig Lee singing during the 2009 Competition and receiving his Grand Prix

Varduhi Khachatryan

Jung-Hyun Moon

Listen to Jaesig Lee singing Che gelida manina at this year's competition

Watch Dinara Alieva singing at the
Gala concert celebrating Elena Obraztsova's 45th Bolshoi Theatre debut anniversary

Watch Varduhi
Khachatryan in the finale of the Judgement Scene

No comments: